Thoughts

I in them and you in me—so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me. John 17:23

I in them and you in me.

Powerful.

Everything we do is spiritual. Our choices in how we act, think, what we do and say..it all has an impact in the kingdom and our words can bring meaning in life and meaning in death.

I’ve often thought about how nonchristians perceive me. Do they think I show love and humility? Am I kind and forgiving? If I were to die today, what would my legacy be? Would people say they saw Christ in me, that my love showed His love?

In every circumstance and situation, I have a choice to make in how I react. I don’t often stop and ask myself how would Jesus want me to respond to this, I usually do what comes natural. Ill throw a hissy fit, I’ll be harsh, and rude. And in those moments of frustration, I’ve just let my worse get to the best of me. How will others see Christ in me when I’m rude and ungrateful? How will others see Gods love when I’m selfish and arrogant? Maybe, just maybe we, people who call ourselves followers of Christ, maybe we’re supposed to be different and set apart in our speech and reactions. We have a higher standard. We are representatives of the church. And when we act out of our selfish and mean desires, we do nothing for the kingdom of God. And we fail in our job to win souls over to Him.

I in them and You in me.

Powerful. Clear. & relevant. Christ is in us, and me must allow him to work in us in everything we do and say. It is critical.

Christ be with me.

Christ with me, Christ before me, Christ behind me,
Christ in me, Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ on my right, Christ on my left,
Christ where I lie, Christ where I sit, Christ where I arise,
Christ in the heart of everyone who thinks of me,
Christ in the mouth of every one who speaks to me,
Christ in every eye that sees me,
Christ in every ear that hears me.

Leave a Reply

